You are here

FAQ

CCNE

Why and when was the CCNE created?

President François Mitterrand created the CCNE in 1983, following the research summit Assises de la Recherche.

Its mission is to produce opinions and reports on the issues referred to it, in view of stimulating the public debate on ethics. It covers the fields of biology, medicine and health. 

 

What influence does the CCNE have in Parliament?

The CCNE is a strictly consultative body. It does not affect the sovereignty of the Parliament, which may follow the CCNE’s recommendations if it wishes. The CCNE may take part – on a consultative basis – in the review of laws. For instance, it participated in the review of the bioethics laws of 1994 and – more recently – of the draft law on immigration (opinion n° 100 on the DNA amendment).

Is the CCNE an independent body?

The CCNE became an independent authority by parliamentary decision in 2004. It is affiliated directly to the office of the Prime Minister. Previously, it came under the Inserm research institute.

Is the CCNE strictly consultative?

The CCNE is a strictly consultative body that only issues opinions and recommendations – with no power of enforcement. It does not have a decision-making mandate.

Who can refer questions to the CCNE?

Various personalities can refer questions to the National Consultative Ethics Committee on Health and Life Sciences:  the President of the Republic, a member of the Government, a University or other school of higher education… The CCNE may also choose to address an issue raised by a citizen or one of its members.

Are the CCNE’s meetings public?

Both the plenary sessions and the meetings of the technical section take place behind closed doors. The CCNE reports on its activities regularly and comprehensively to the public at large, for instance during the National Ethics Days, the Youth Forum and the Regional Ethics Days.

Who are the CCNE’s members? How are they appointed?

The make-up of the CCNE is defined by law, which guarantees its multidisciplinary nature. It includes five personalities belonging to "the main philosophical and spiritual families" (Catholic, Protestant, Jewish and Muslim), 19 personalities chosen for their "qualifications and interest in ethical issues" and 15 from fields of research (Inserm, CNRS, Institut Pasteur).

These 39 members are appointed for a period of four years. The Committee’s work is headed by its president, appointed by the President of the Republic for a period of two years.

 

What is the CCNE’s role at the international level?

Regular meetings are held with other national ethics committees to discuss new issues brought up by scientific and medical progress. At the global and European levels, many initiatives illustrate this will to work together, including the Global Summit of national ethics committees and the Forum of National Ethics Councils (NEC Forum).

What fields does the CCNE investigate?

The mission of the National Consultative Ethics Committee on Health and Life Sciences is to give opinions on ethical issues raised by the progress of knowledge in the areas of biology, medicine and health. The questions raised by medically assisted procreation and by experiments on humans were the first referred to the Committee, but the scope of investigation has broadened since to many other areas.

How does one define bioethics?

Created after Nuremberg, bioethics is defined as an ethical investigation into the progress of research in the fields of biology, medicine and health.

Vous êtes ici

FAQ

CCNE

Pourquoi et quand le CCNE a-t-il été créé?

Le CCNE a été créé en 1983 par François Mitterrand, après les Assises de la Recherche. Il a pour mission de produire des avis et rapports sur les questions dont il est saisi, afin de stimuler le débat éthique au sein de la société. Ses champs de réflexion recouvrent les domaines de la biologie, de la médecine et de la santé. 

Quelle est l’influence du CCNE sur le Parlement?

Le CCNE est un organisme strictement consultatif. Le Parlement reste souverain et peut suivre ses recommandations s’il le souhaite. Le CCNE peut intervenir de façon consultative dans le cadre du réexamen de lois. Il a notamment participé au réexamen des lois de bioéthique de 1994. Plus récemment, le CCNE s’est prononcé, au travers de son avis n°100, sur le projet de loi sur l’immigration (amendement ADN).  

Le CCNE est-il strictement consultatif ?

Le CCNE est un organisme strictement consultatif qui n’émet que des avis ou des recommandations qui n’ont aucune force obligatoire. Il ne peut en aucune façon prendre de décision.

Le CCNE est-il un organisme indépendant ?

Le CCNE est devenu une autorité indépendante par la volonté du législateur en 2004. Il est administrativement rattaché aux services du Premier Ministre. Auparavant, il dépendait de L’INSERM.

Qui peut saisir le CCNE ?

Le Comité Consultatif National d’Ethique peut être saisi par différentes personnalités : le Président de la République, le président de l’Assemblée nationale, le président du Sénat, un membre du Gouvernement, un établissement d’enseignement supérieur… Le Comité peut également se saisir d’une question posée par un citoyen ou par un de ses membres.

Les réunions du CCNE sont-elles publiques ?

Ni les séances du comité plénier, ni celles de la section technique ne sont publiques. Le CCNE donne des rendez-vous réguliers aux citoyens, comme les Journées Annuelles d’Ethique, le Forum des jeunes et les Journées Régionales d’Ethique.

Qui sont les membres du CCNE ? Comment sont-ils nommés ?

La composition du CCNE est définie par la loi qui assure au Comité sa pluridisciplinarité et son pluralisme : 5 personnalités appartenant aux « principales familles philosophiques et spirituelles » (courant philosophique et religions catholiques, protestantes, juives et musulmanes), 19 personnalités choisies pour « leur compétence et leur intérêt pour les problèmes éthiques », 15 personnalités appartenant au « secteur de la recherche » (Inserm, CNRS, Institut Pasteur…).
Ces 39 membres sont nommés pour 4 ans. Les travaux du Comité sont conduits par son Président, nommé par le Président de la République, pour une période de deux ans. 

Quel est le rôle du CCNE à l’échelon international ?

De multiples rencontres sont organisées entre les différents Comités nationaux d’éthique pour réfléchir aux nouvelles questions posées par les progrès de la science et de la médecine. Sur le plan mondial et européen, de nombreuses initiatives sont révélatrices de cette volonté de réflexion commune, comme le « Global Summit » des comités nationaux d’éthique ou la « conférence permanente des comités d’éthique européens ». 

Quels sont les champs de réflexion du CCNE ?

Le Comité Consultatif National d’Ethique pour les sciences de la vie et de la santé a pour mission de donner des avis sur les problèmes éthiques et les questions de société soulevés par les progrès de la connaissance dans les domaines de la biologie, de la médecine et de la santé. Les questions posées par l’Assistance Médicale à la Procréation ont été, avec l’expérimentation sur l’homme, parmi les premiers sujets abordés par le Comité, mais sa réflexion s’est largement étendue à bien d’autres domaines.

Qu’est-ce que la bioéthique ?

Née après Nuremberg, la bioéthique se définit comme une réflexion sur les progrès de la recherche dans les domaines de la biologie, de la médecine et de la santé.